The 2017 All-County Line Preps Football Team

3 years ago Andrew Luberda 0

We are pleased to announce the inaugural All-County Line Preps Football Team.

Our team has a two-deep depth chart – 12 offense, 13 defense and four specialists per team – with 58 players, including four sophomores, 13 juniors and 41 seniors. We’ve also selected Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year.

Players were chosen from the eight teams in our coverage area using a selection process that included personal observation, film, and game stats, as well as some requested input from select high school sports media members.

Offensive Player of the Year – Devin Larsen (QB), Queen Creek High School, JR

Devin Larsen. (Mike Fackrell).

The Bulldogs’ MVP just completed his second season as the starter, finishing with nearly 2,500 passing yards and 30 touchdown passes, including 16 in the final four games of the season.

Larsen, the 5A San Tan Region Offensive Player of the Year, completed 62 percent of his passes while only throwing six interceptions in 235 attempts, and ended the year with a 124.1 QB Rating. He threw three or more touchdowns six times in 2017, which included tying a career-high with six touchdowns in a 48 – 20 first-round playoff victory against Marana Mountain View on Nov. 3.

Big-time players make big-time plays in big-time games and the 6-foot-5 Larsen did that multiple times in 2017.

In games against Hamilton, Campo Verde, Mountain View and Notre Dame Prep he completed 58-of-92 passing for 1,020 yards and 16 touchdowns. In the state quarterfinals versus the eventual state runner-up Saints, he threw a pair of scoring passes in the final 1:51 to force overtime, the second a 47-yarder with less than six seconds left in the game.

In a year when several players were deserving of being named our Offensive POY, Larsen was the best of the best.


All-County Line Preps First Team
QB Devin Larsen (JR) Queen Creek
RB Nolan Susel (SR) Florence
RB Tarrik Workman (SR) ALA
OL Dakota Banning (SR) Queen Creek
OL Quinton Tucker (SR) Florence
OL Colten Shaw (SR) Combs
OL Brock LaPoint (JR) San Tan Foothills
OL Brandon Tuescher (SR) Benjamin Franklin
TE/WR Jake Ayala (SR) Queen Creek
WR Garrett Duke (SR) Queen Creek
WR Bujon Boyd (SR) ALA
ATH Joshua Maignan (SO) Florence


All-County Line Preps Second Team
QB Carter White (SR) Poston Butte
RB Dylan Borja (JR) Queen Creek
RB Amahri Bailey (SO) San Tan Foothills
OL Kyle Sawyer (JR) Queen Creek
OL Cole Evans (JR) Combs
OL McKay Moon (SR) ALA
OL Steven Arant (SR) San Tan Foothills
OL Oscar Miranda (SR) Poston Butte
TE/WR Ryan Dobbs (JR) Queen Creek
WR Javier Munoz (SR) Poston Butte
WR Kade Lunt (SR) ALA
ATH Zach Jefferies (SO) Benjamin Franklin


Jakob Redford.

Defensive Player of the Year – Jakob Redford (LB), ALA-Queen Creek, SR

We’re not the first to recognize the Patriots’ defensive leader, we’re just the most recent.

In addition to his selection here, Redford was also selected the 3A Central Region, 3A Conference and AzFCA Defensive Player of the Year.

Quite the quadruple honor.

Redford, who measures 6-foot-4 and 220 pounds, led the Patriots in three statistical categories – 92 tackles, 25 tackles-for-loss, and 15 sacks. He finished with 10 or more tackles four times in 2017 and had at least one sack in 10 of the 12 games he played, including five games with two sacks.

In what was arguably his best game of the season, Redford totaled 15 tackles – five for loss – and a pair of sacks in the Patriots’ 56 – 6 first-round playoff victory against Ganado on Nov. 4.

Known to be soft-spoken off the field, Redford let his actions speak on the field. His performance in 2017 was loud and clear to opposing teams.


All-County Line Preps First Team
DL Powell Skiba (SR) Benjamin Franklin
DL Christian Fuhrman (JR) Queen Creek
DL Cameron Rogers SR) ALA
DL Hunter Moon (SR) ALA
DL Tahro Hasty (SR) Combs
LB Jakob Redford (SR) ALA
LB Tyler Thompson (SR) Poston Butte
LB Jon Matuzak (SR) Queen Creek
DB Shane Mathis (SR) Florence
DB Sebastian Penaflor (SR) San Tan Foothills
DB Jake Vurpillat (SR) ALA
DB Addison Udall (SR) Queen Creek
ATH Dante Coleman (SR) Queen Creek
K Talen Rider (JR) ALA
P Jalen Lupton (JR) Combs
PR Tanner Mclachlan (SR) ALA
KR Chandler Miles (JR) Benjamin Franklin


All-County Line Preps Second Team
DL Rafael Aldecoa (JR) Queen Creek
DL Lorenzo Cruz (SO) San Tan Foothills
DL Isiah Jacobs (SR) Combs
DL Adam Berthelot (SR) Combs
DL Nikolas Arnold (SR) Florence
LB Shelton Mathis (SR) Florence
LB Armando Oronoa (JR) Queen Creek
LB Cade Mcafee (SO) Benjamin Franklin
DB Larry Tripp (SR) Poston Butte
DB Vonte’ Neal (SR) Florence
DB Nick Howland (SR) Combs
DB Josh Eames (SR) ALA
ATH Seth Hamblin (SR) Benjamin Franklin
K Zack Piwniczka (SR) Poston Butte
P Issak Clonts (JR) Queen Creek
PR Roy Andersen (SR) Combs
KR Andrew Arredondo (SR) Coolidge